THE GREAT GATSBY, f. scott fitzgerald [book review]

Posted: July 16, 2008 in ESSAYS /RANDOM COMMENTS
Tags: , ,

the fallen angel with burning feathers

No work of art can be created in a vacuum. The socio-political and economical factors of the time pervades the work. Evidently “The Great Gatsby” is deeply rooted in the 1920s. Fitzgerald chronicles the age deftly in the novel. Fetzgerald dubbed the 1920s as “the jazz age”. The ban of alcohol which gave rise to rich bootleggers, sprawling private parties, the chaos and violence of world war one, the moral emptiness and hypocrisy : all are dextrously portrayed in the novel.

 

Read the complete Review at my new blog: http://plutopanes.hubpages.com/hub/THE-GREAT-GATSBY-review

recommended

recommended

Comments
  1. I love how you said “It is a tragedy of human desire” because you said it all there. To be honest, I had no idea that the novel is a tragedy. It was far from what I expected from the “great” Gatsby. The title ended up as a mockery and irony hence a success approach towards a creative piece. Although I wouldn’t really say that the tragic event represents the meaninglessness of the world. To me, there lies a twisted meaning in the novel compared to the real world that up to now I’m still trying to figure out. The parts that boggles me are Myrtle and Gatsby’s deaths, what do they symbolize? I mean, Tom had an affair with Myrtle and then Daisy and Gatsby. Daisy ends up killing Myrtle and George ends up killing Gatsby. I was trying to put morality somewhere between but it doesn’t seem to fit. It might also be the sacredness of marriage.

    As for human desires, I agree when you said that human desires have boundaries. And I think that these boundaries are only created when your desires clashes with someone else’s; as in Daisy was already married to Tom. Overall, I love how profound and mind-boggling the novel is. There are so many hidden symbols that can actually be related to actual circumstances.

Leave a Reply

